FULL NAMEChennai Super Kings
TEAM OWNED BYChennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd
MAIN PLAYERSMS Dhoni, Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana
CSK Team Twitter@chennaiIPL
CSK Team Instagram@chennaiipl
CSK Details



Chennai Super Kings Matches Schedule

182/5 - 178/7
IPL 2023
Narendra Modi Stadium

Gujarat Titans vs Rajasthan Royals, IPL 1st Match

Results: GT won by 5 wickets
217/7 - 205/7
IPL 2023
MA Chidambaram Stadium

Chennai Super Kings vs Lucknow Super Giants, IPL 6th Match

Results: Super Kings won by 12 runs
157/8 - 159/3
IPL 2023
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings, IPL 12th Match

Results: Super Kings won by 7 wickets
172/5 - 175/8
IPL 2023
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals, IPL 17th Match

Results: Royals won by 3 runs
218/8 - 226/6
IPL 2023
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings, IPL 24th Match

Results: Super Kings won by 8 runs


Captain: MS Dhoni
CEO: Kasinath Viswanathan
Team manager: Russell Radhakrishnan
Consultant: Sundar Raman
Head coach: Stephen Fleming
Batting coach: Michael Hussey
Bowling coach: Dwayne Bravo
Fielding coach: Rajiv Kumar
Physio: Tommy Simsek
Physical trainer: Greg King
Team doctor: Dr Madhu Thottappilli


Principal Partners: TVS Eurogrip, India Cements, Gulf, SNJ 10000, British Empire, Reliance Jio, Nippon Paint, Astral Pipes.
Digital Partners: Aqilliz
Merchandise Partners: ICICI Bank, Fan Craze, Fan Play

Chennai Super Kings have won five IPL titles and are tired of Mumbai Indians. CSL have won in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023. They also hold the records for most appearances in the playoffs (12 times) and the Final (10 times) of the IPL. Apart from the IPL, they also won the now-defunct Champions League Twenty20 in 2010 and 2014.

  • CSK 2023
  • CSK team
  • MSD win cup
  • MSD 14 Win

Chennai have not featured in only two editions of the IPL since the launch of the T20 league in 2008. They were suspended over the 2013 IPL betting case and did not feature in the 2016 and 2017 editions. CSK made a roaring comeback, winning the title in 2018, led by an inspired MS Dhoni. They also won the crown again in 2021 after a disappointing show in 2020, where they failed to make the playoffs for the first time.

Dhoni was the costliest player at the inaugural auction, as the Chennai franchise bought him for $1.5 million. The franchise named Dhoni as skipper and appointed Kepler Wessels as the head coach. CSK got off to a brilliant start in IPL 2008, reaching the final. In the summit clash, though, they suffered heartbreak, going down to Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals (RR) by three wickets in a last-ball thriller.

Chennai lifted their maiden title in 2010 when they defeated arch-rivals Mumbai Indians in the final by 22 runs. Suresh Raina starred with 57 as CSK posted 168/5 and then held Mumbai to 146/9. They captured the crown again in 2011 before finishing runners-up in 2012, 2013 and 2015. After lifting the 2018 championship, Chennai were runners-up again in 2019, going down to Mumbai by 1 run in a pulsating final. In 2021, openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis smashed 635 and 633 runs, leading the run charts, as Chennai won the title yet again.

Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina, Matthew Hayden, Stephen Fleming and Faf du Plessis are among some of the many big names who have represented CSK in the IPL over the years. As per reports, the brand value of the CSK franchise in 2019 was estimated to be around ₹732 crore ($104 million approximately).

Chennai Super Kings Address – Dhun Building, No: 827, 3rd Floor, Mount Road, Anna Salai, Chennai – 600 002.
Contact Number – Unavailable
Email Address –
Chennai Super Kings official website

CSK team


MS Dhoni ( Captain )IndiaWicket-keeperRight-handed, Right-arm Medium
Devon ConwayNew ZealandBatterLeft-handed, Right-arm Medium
Ruturaj GaikwadIndiaBatterRight-handed
Ravindra JadejaIndiaAll-rounderLeft-handed, Left-arm Orthodox Spin
Mitchell SantnerNew ZealandBatterLeft-handed, Left-arm orthodox
Moeen AliPakistanAll-rounderLeft-handed, Right-arm off-break
Rajvardhan HangargekarIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Right Arm Medium
Shivam DubeIndiaAll-rounderLeft-handed, Medium Seam
Deepak ChaharIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Right-arm Medium
Maheesh TheekshanaSri LankaBowlerRight-handed, Right Arm Off Break Medium
Mukesh ChoudharyIndiaBowlerLeft-handed, Left Arm Medium
Prashant SolankiIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Legbreak
Simarjeet SinghIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Right-arm Fast-medium
Ajinkya RahaneIndiaBatterRight-handed, Right-arm Medium
Tushar DeshpandeIndiaBowlerLeft-handed, Right Arm Medium
Matheesha PathiranaSri LankaBowlerRight-handed, Right-arm Medium
Shaik RasheedIndiaBatterRight-handed, Right Arm Leg Spin
Nishant SindhuIndiaAll-RounderLeft-handed, Left Arm Slow Orthodox
Ajay MandalIndiaAll-RounderLeft-handed, Left Arm Slow Unorthodox
Chennai Super Kings Team 2023


  • Highest win percentage in IPL – 58.41
  • Most appearances in the playoffs – 11 times
  • Most appearances in the Final – 9 times


The historic M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk) in Chennai is the home ground of CSK. The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association owns the stadium and has a seating capacity of 50,000.



Which key players did CSK buy at the IPL 2023 auction?

Chennai Super Kings purchased England all-rounder Ben Stokes for Rs 16.25 crore and New Zealand all-rounder Kyle Jamieson for Rs 1 crore. Jamieson is, however, unlikely to feature in IPL 2023 due to his injury issues.

Which players did CSK retain ahead of the IPL 2023 auction?

MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar and Maheesh Theekshana were among the key players retained by MI ahead of the IPL 2023 auction.

How many IPL trophies have Chennai Super Kings won?

Four. The second-most by an IPL franchise. CSK won the crown in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. They also lifted the Champions League Twenty20 two times in 2010 and 2014.

Who was the first Chennai Super captain?

MS Dhoni was the first captain of Chennai Super Kings. He has been a captain in every season for the franchise. Dhoni gave up the captaincy in the 2021 season but took it back after Jadeja gave up mid-season.

When did Chennai Super Kings reach the IPL final for the first time?

Chennai Super Kings reached their first IPL in the inaugural edition in 2008. They finished as runners-up in the edition, going down to Rajasthan Royals in a thrilling finale.

How many times have Chennai Super Kings reached the playoffs in the IPL?

CSK have reached the playoffs of the IPL as many as 11 times. They made it to the playoffs in every edition of the IPL they featured from 2008 to 2019 (they were suspended in 2016 and 2017). The 2020 edition was the first time they did not reach the playoffs. In 2022, they again failed to make the playoffs, finishing ninth out of 10 teams.

Which team is considered CSK’s closest rival in the IPL?

MI are considered CSK’s closest IPL rival. Their rivalry is referred to as El Clasico of IPL. 

Who are the owners of Chennai Super Kings?

CSK is owned by India Cements Limited through the Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited holding company.

Which is CSK’s home ground?

The home ground of CSK is the historic M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk) in Chennai. The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association owns the stadium and has a seating capacity of 50,000.

Who are Thala and Chinna Thala in CSK?

MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina are called Thala and Chinna Thala in CSK.