David Warner and KL Rahul
Delhi Capitals to face Lucknow Super Giants on April 1

Delhi Capitals will square off against Lucknow Super Giants for the 3rd game of IPL 16 on April 1. The two teams will lock horns at the Ekana International Cricket Stadium, home to Lucknow. Delhi will enter the pitch with a new captain, as David Warner will lead the side in Rishabh Pant’s absence, who is recovering from his knee ligament tear, which he sustained after his car crash last year. Meanwhile, KL Rahul, for the 2nd straight year, will lead Lucknow.

The two teams had a great IPL 2022, and Lucknow Super Giants, in particular, who finished 3rd on the table and lost to RCB in the eliminator round. Meanwhile, Delhi finished fifth on the table with 14 points in 14 games. Delhi and Lucknow are eying their maiden IPL title, and for that, they brought in key players at the auction. LSG bought Nicholas Pooran for 16 crores, while Delhi’s highest buy was Mukesh Kumar, whom the franchise bought for 5.50 crores.

Both teams are very balanced on paper, but Delhi would certainly miss the service of their regular-skipper Rishabh Pant, and with that, they are left without a proper keeper-batter. Abhishek Porel has been roped in as Pant’s replacement, but the Capitals are most likely to turn their eye to domestic sensation Sarfaraz Khan as their first-choice keeper.

Delhi has one of the best opening pairs in the tournament, with David Warner and Prithvi Shaw at the top. Their middle order is also strong with Mitchell Marsh, who recently won the Player of the Series award for his performance against India. However, one area where Delhi might struggle is the lower middle order, where they lack a big name. Also, for the Lucknow clash, Delhi will be without Anrich Nortje, who will join the IPL after South Africa completes their tour against the Netherlands.

On the other hand, Lucknow has KL Rahul but will miss Quinton de Kock at the top of the order. Nevertheless, LSG have strong players like Deepak Hooda and Marcus Stoinis, who can put Delhi in trouble. However, with Mohsin Khan doubtful with injury, Lucknow may sweat on their bowling line-up.


Since LSG made their IPL debut last year, these two teams met twice last season, and the KL Rahul-led side emerged victorious in both games.

Pitch Report

In the matches played in the past at Ekana Stadium, the team batting first has got an advantage. In such a situation, in this match, the team which wins the toss would love to bat first. Also, this pitch is considered friendly for the batters. But as the game progresses here, the bowlers will start getting help.

Weather Condition

The weather is expected to be cloudy in Lucknow on Saturday. It may rain along with the clouds. But the good thing is that the probability of rain in the evening is only 12 per cent, and with the setting of the sun, the sky will be clear.

When, Where and How to Watch?

The match between Lucknow Super Giants and Delhi Capitals will be played from 7:30 PM onwards, while the toss has been scheduled at 7:00 PM. You can watch the live telecast of this match on Star Sports Network on TV in different languages. For OTT viewers, this game can be streamed for free on the Jio Cinema app and website.

Probable XI

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (c), Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Jaydev Unadkat, Mark Wood.

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner (c), Mitchell Marsh, Manish Pandey, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan (wk), Axar Patel, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Chetan Sakaria.


Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (Captain), Ayush Badoni, Karan Sharma, Manan Vohra, Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Krishnappa Gautam, Deepak Hooda, Kyle Mayers, Krunal Pandya, Avesh Khan, Mohsin Khan, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Nicholas Pooran, Jaydev Unadkat, Yash Thakur, Romario Shepherd, Daniel Symes, Amit Mishra, Prerak Mankad, Swapnil Singh, Naveen-ul-Haq and Yudhveer Charak.

Delhi Capitals: David Warner (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Ripple Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakaria, Kamlesh Nagerkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Manish Pandey and Riley Russo.

IPL में हैदराबाद हारकर होगी बाहर – VIDEO

YouTube video

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *