Team India defeated Sri Lanka by 4 wickets in the second ODI of the series. The Men in Blue won the first game by 67 after posting 373/7 with Virat Kohli slamming his 45th ODI hundred.

The first contest also saw Mohammed Shami Mankading Dasun Shanaka at the non-striker’s end. However, India captain Rohit Sharma withdrew the appeal as Sri Lanka skipper was batting on 98.

India spinner R Ashwin, who is in favour of such dismissals, has spoke about the episode. He said that the dismissal is legitimate and nobody checks with the captain when an appeal is made for a caught-behind or lbw.

“Shami ran him out but Rohit withdrew the appeal. This form of dismissal is legitimate. Nobody will ask a captain if there is an lbw appeal, or a caught-behind appeal. It is the duty of the umpire to give a batter out if he is out,” said R Ashwin.

“It is the bowler’s right to mankad a batter and make an appeal. If a batsman nicks a ball and walks without waiting for the umpire’s decision, the batting team captain won’t stop him,” he added.

“These different treatments for bowlers and batters have been taking place for many years now.”

Leave a comment