Sanju Samson has won the toss, and Rajasthan Royals are batting first against Gujarat Titans in IPL 2022.

David Miller smashed three successive sixes in the last over as first-timer Gujarat Titans breezed into the final of the Indian Premier League with a dominant seven-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals on Tuesday.

Rajasthan, which won the inaugural IPL in 2008, will have another chance to qualify for the final as they take on the winner of Wednesday’s eliminator between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Miller blazed 68 off 38 balls, and captain Hardik Pandya scored an equally splendid 40 off 27 balls as Gujarat cruised to 191-3 with three balls to spare.

Both Gujarat batters decimated the spin threat of the tournament’s top wicket-taker, Yuzvendra Chahal (0-32), after Jos Buttler’s masterful 89 had lifted Rajasthan’s total to 188-6.

RR captain Sanju Samson felt batting was easy in the second innings, and the toss played a big role in his team’s defeat.

“The wicket was a bit sticky (and) that total in that kind of conditions was great,” Samson said while adding that he had been unlucky in the tournament with the tosses after losing the toss on Tuesday. “We have been playing good cricket … luck plays a huge role; the toss plays a huge role.”

Leave a comment

Cancel reply