The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 10-team Indian Premier League (IPL) for the ongoing season with much fanfare.

Hardik Pandya has won the toss and Gujarat Titans are bowling first against Lucknow Super Giants in IPL 2022.

“It’s the first game, we want to see how the wicket plays,” said Hardik Pandya. “Also, the dew is a factor. One thing which is very clear is we are going to give all the guys full freedom, play freely and enjoy. Lockie Ferguson, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan and David Miller are our four overseas.”

Lucknow’s skipper KL Rahul also wanted to bowl first.  “The wicket remains the same throughout. We get to set a legacy at a new franchise. Everyone comes with a fresh mindset and want to give their best. We have got three overseas players: Evin Lewis, Quinton de Kock and Dushmantha Chameera.”

Here are the XIs:

Gujarat Titans: 1 Shubman Gill, 2 Matthew Wade (wk), 3 Vijay Shankar, 4 Abhinav Manohar, 5 Hardik Pandya (capt), 6 David Miller, 7 Rahul Tewatia, 8 Rashid Khan, 9 Varun Aaron, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Mohammed Shami

Lucknow Super Giants: 1 KL Rahul (capt), 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Evin Lewis, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 Deepak Hooda, 6 Krunal Pandya, 7 Mohsin Khan, 8 Ayush Badoni, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Ravi Bishnoi, 11 Avesh Khan

Leave a comment

Cancel reply