The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) will begin on March 26, while the final will be played on May 29.

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) will begin on March 26, while the final will be played on May 29. A total of 70 league matches will be played across four venues in Mumbai and Pune. The venue for the playoff matches will be decided later. There is a new format in place with the teams being divided into two virtual groups of five each. Each team will play twice with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group. With the rest of the teams in the second group, they will play only once during the season. In the build-up to the IPL 2022 season, we look at 10 interesting records in the T20 league.

Most ducks: The record of registering most ducks in the IPL is 13. Six players hold the unwanted record. They are – Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, and Rohit Sharma

Most runs scored in an over: Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja have plundered the most runs in an over in an IPL match -36. Playing for RCB in 2011, Gayle whacked Kochi Tuskers Kerala left-arm pacer Prasanth Parameswaran all over the park. CSK’s Jadeja got 36 against RCB’s Harshal Patel in IPL 2021.

Most runs conceded in a match: Pacer Basil Thampi holds the record for having conceded the most number of runs in a match. Playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad against RCB, he went for 70 runs without claiming a wicket.

Most consecutive wins in a season: Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) hold the record for having registered the most number of consecutive wins in a season. They went undefeated in nine matches in a row during the 2014 season when they lifted the IPL crown for the second time.

Most consecutive defeats in a season: Delhi Capitals and Pune Warriors hold the opposite record. Both registered the most consecutive defeats in a season – 9. It happened with Pune Warriors in 2012 and Delhi Capitals in 2014.

Most Man of the Match Awards: South African legend AB de Villiers holds the record for having won the most Man of the Match Awards in the history of the IPL. The player represented Royal Challengers Bangalore for the majority of his career after beginning his IPL stint with Delhi Daredevils. He ended his IPL career with 25 MoM awards.

Most catches in an innings: Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi holds the record for having taken most catches in an innings in the IPL. He took five for SRH against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021. Sachin Tendulkar (4) is second on the list. 

Most extras in an innings: KKR hold the somewhat bizarre record of having conceded most extras in an innings. They gave away 28 against Deccan Chargers in an IPL encounter in the 2008 edition. Punjab Kings (PBKS) conceded 27 against RCB in a match during IPL 2011.

Most runs from fours and sixes in an innings: Who else but Chris Gayle to hold this record! The left-hander smashed an unbelievable 154 off his 175 runs for RCB against Pune Warriors in an IPL 2013 match in boundaries. Gayle clubbed 13 fours and as many as 17 sixes during his innings.

Most matches as captain: It is quite unbelievable that MS Dhoni holds the record for having led in well over 200 IPL matches. Captain Cool has been the leader of an IPL team in as many as 204 matches. Apart from CSK, Dhoni has also led the Pune franchise. As captain, he has won 121 and lost 82 matches. One game has produced no result. Quite a stellar record that.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply