Steve Smith is in line to play his first Twenty20 cricket international in over three years after being named Tuesday in Australia’s squad for matches later this month against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Smith’s previous T20 international was against India at Mohali in March, 2016.

Opener David Warner was also named in the 14-man squad along with Ashes test teammates, fast bowlers Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc. Warner played his most-recent T20 international against New Zealand in February last year.

Allrounder Marcus Stoinis and batsmen Chris Lynn and D’Arcy Short are the notable omissions from the squad while Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa have held down the spinner roles, denying a T20 call-up for Nathan Lyon.

Fast bowler Billy Stanlake has been recalled to the squad which is named with an eye to the T20 World Cup in Australia in October next year.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a comment