Star cricketers of Bangladesh Mashrafe Mortaza and Shakib Al Hasan, the names which have carried Bangladesh cricket on their shoulders in the last decade, have been dropped from the central contracts offered by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

The BCB, during a meeting of the Board of Directors on Sunday, finalized a list of 16 players who will be offered central contracts which will end on December 31 this year.

Although only seven of those 16 cricketers would be given the contract for both the white and the red ball and cricket, the rest nine would be given only one contract, either the red or the white ball.

Shakib is not considered for fresh contract as he is now facing a two-year ban imposed by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for not reporting corrupt approaches while Mortaza, who was asked by the BCB to inform about his future aspirations, has quit ODI captaincy, and therefore it was only natural that his name was missing from the list.

Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun and spinners Taijul Islam and Mehidy Hasan are the seven players who have been given the contract for all formats.

While Test captain Mominul Haque, spinner Nayeem Hasan, pacers Abu Jayed and Ebadot Hossain got red-ball contracts, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Afif Hossain, and Mohammad Naim were given the contracts for one-day internationals.

Leave a comment