FULL NAMEMumbai Indians
CAPTAINRohit Sharma
TEAM OWNED BYIndiawin Sports
MAIN PLAYERSRohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Jofra Archer, Tim David, Cameron Green
MI Team FACEBOOK@mumbaiindians
MI Team Twitter@mipaltan
MI Team Instagram@mumbaiindians
Mumbai Indians Details



Mumbai Indians Match Sechdule

172/2 - 171/7
IPL 2023
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians, IPL 5th Match

Results: RCB won by 8 wickets
157/8 - 159/3
IPL 2023
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings, IPL 12th Match

Results: Super Kings won by 7 wickets
172 - 173/4
IPL 2023
Arun Jaitley Stadium

Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, IPL 16th Match

Results: Mumbai won by 6 wickets
186/5 - 185/6
IPL 2023
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 22nd Match

Results: Mumbai won by 5 wickets
178 - 192/5
IPL 2023
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians, IPL 25th Match

Results: Mumbai won by 14 runs


Captain: Rohit Sharma
Global Head of Cricket Development: Zaheer Khan
Global Head of Performance: Mahela Jayawardene
Head coach: Mark Boucher
Batting coach: Kieron Pollard
Bowling coach: Shane Bond
Fielding coach: James Pamment
Physiotherapist: Craig Govender
Strength and conditioning coach: Paul Chapman

Sponsors :

Principal Partners: Slice, DHL
Associate Partners: Jio, Astral Pipes
Official Partners: Usha, Dream 11, Acko, McDowell’s, Bisleri, Team Viewer, BKT, Sporjo, Perfomax, ESA, DNA, Radio City 91.1 FM, Fever FM, My FM.
Merchandise Partners: Celio, Chupps, Cybeart, EUME, Fancode, Plaeto, Play R, Arena.

Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). They are the only team to have won the title as many as five times – 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. In addition, they also triumphed in the now-defunct Champions League T20 twice – in 2011 and 2013.

  • MI Teams
  • MI Cup team
  • MI 2023
  • MI win 2019

Mumbai have featured in every edition since the launch of the IPL in 2008. Before the inaugural season, MI purchased legends like Sanath Jayasuriya, Harbhajan Singh, Shaun Pollock, and Lasith Malinga. However, despite a strong squad presence, Mumbai struggled to make much of an impact in the early years of the T20 league.

After being eliminated in the league stage in the first two editions, Mumbai made the final in 2010. However, they finished runners-up, going down to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 22 runs in the finals. Mumbai’s fortunes experienced a turnaround in 2013 when Rohit Sharma led them to a maiden IPL triumph. This time, MI defeated CSK by 23 runs as Kieron Pollard hammered an unbeaten 60 off 32 balls.

Subsequently, Mumbai Indians became a force to reckon with in the cash-rich T20 league. They again beat CSK by 41 runs to lift the title in 2015. Rohit led from the front, clobbering 50 off only 26 balls. Mumbai’s third IPL triumph came in 2017 when they beat Rising Pune Supergiant by one run in a thrilling final. All-rounder Krunal Pandya starred with 47 off 38 in a low-scoring summit clash. With the ball, Mitchell Johnson starred with 3/26.

Mumbai also became the first and only side to lift IPL titles in consecutive years. In 2019, they again beat CSK in a humdinger by one-run in a last-ball finish. Malinga famously trapped Shardul Thakur with a slower ball yorker to end the game. In 2020, MI eased past first-time finalists Delhi Capitals to become the first side to lift five IPL crowns. 

The last two seasons have not been memorable for Mumbai Indians. They finished fifth in 2021. For 2022, MI had to release most of their players and build their team literally from scratch as the mega auction took place. They had a disastrous season, finishing 10th out of 10 teams. 

In 2017, MI became the first team to cross the $100 million mark in brand value among the IPL franchises. According to a report in The Economic Times, the brand value of MI in 2019 was estimated to be around ₹809 crore ($115 million approx).

Mumbai Indians Address – Gate No. 2, ‘D’ Road Churchgate, Mumbai, 400020, India
Email Address –,
Mumbai Indians official website


Rohit Sharma ( Captain )IndiaBatterRight-handed, Right-arm Off-spin
Dewald BrevisSouth AfricaBowlerLeft-handed, Leg-Spin
Suryakumar YadavIndiaBatterLeft-handed, Leg-Spin
Ishan KishanIndiaWicketkeeperLeft-handed
Arjun TendulkarIndiaAll-rounderLeft-handed, Medium-seam
Hrithik ShokeenIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Right Arm Off Break
Jofra ArcherEnglandAll-rounderRight-handed, Fast Seam
Mohd. Arshad KhanIndiaAll RounderLeft-handed, Left Arm Medium
N. Tilak VarmaIndiaBatterLeft-handed, Right Arm Off Break
Ramandeep SinghIndiaBatterRight-handed, Right Arm Medium
Tim DavidAustraliaBatterRight-handed, Right-arm Medium
Jasprit BumrahIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Right-arm Medium
Cameron GreenAustraliaAll-RounderRight-handed, Right Arm Fast
Jhye RichardsonAustraliaBowlerRight-handed
Kumar Kartikeya SinghIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Left Arm Orthodox
Tristan StubbsSouth AfricaWicketkeeperRight-handed, Right Arm off-break
Piyush ChawlaIndiaBowlerLeft-handed, Right-arm Leg Spin
Akash MadhwalIndiaBowlerRight-handed, Right Arm Fast Medium
Shams MulaniIndiaAll-RounderLeft-handed, Left Arm Slow Orthodox
Jason BehrendorffAustraliaBowlerRight-handed, Left-arm Fast-medium
Nehal WadheraIndiaAll-RounderLeft-handed, Right Arm Leg Spin
Vishnu VinodIndiaWicketkeeperRight-handed
Duan JansenSouth AfricaAll-RounderRight-handed, Left Arm Fast
Mumbai Indians Team 2023


  • Most IPL wins (5) – 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020
  • Largest Margin of victory by runs (146 runs) – MI vs Delhi in Delhi, May 2017         


In the first two seasons of the IPL, Mumbai Indians played their home games at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. In the third season, in 2010, they played all their home games at the Brabourne Stadium as Wankhede Stadium was renovating ahead of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai is now the home ground of the franchise. The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) owns the stadium and has a seating capacity of over 33,000.



Which players did MI buy at the IPL 2023 auction?

Cameron Green (INR 17.5 crore), Jhye Richardson (INR 1.5 crore), and Piyush Chawla (INR 50 lakh) were among the key players bought by Mumbai Indians (MI) at the IPL 2023 auction. 

Which players did MI retain ahead of the IPL 2023 auction?

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Jofra Archer, and Dewald Brevis were among the key players retained by MI ahead of the IPL 2023 auction.

How many IPL trophies have Mumbai Indians won?

Five. The most by an IPL franchise. 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. They also won the Champions League T20 twice, in 2011 and 2013. 

Who was the first Mumbai Indians captain?

Sachin Tendulkar, in 2008 was the first captain of Mumbai Indians. 

When did Mumbai Indians reach the IPL final for the first time?

Mumbai Indians reached their first IPL final in 2010. They finished as runners-up in the edition.

Who captained Mumbai when they won IPL for the first time?

Rohit Sharma was the captain when MI won IPL for the first time in 2013. Ricky Ponting began the tournament as MI skipper before handing over the reins to Rohit.

Which team is considered MI’s closest rival in the IPL?

CSK are considered MI’s closest IPL rival. Their rivalry is referred to as El Clasico of IPL. 

Who are the owners of Mumbai Indians?

Reliance Industries own the team through its 100% subsidiary Indiawin Sports.

Which is MI’s home ground?

Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai is India’s home ground with a capacity of 33,108.

Which father-son duo has been part of the MI franchise?

Sachin Tendulkar and his son Arjun Tendulkar. Arjun is yet to make his IPL debut.