The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is all set to resume the 2020 edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 2020) which has halted in March amidst the coronavirus pandemic. Four teams, namely — namely Multan Sultans, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, and Peshawar Zalmi — had qualified for the playoffs the rise in the number of coronavirus cases in the country.

The playoffs will be played in Karachi on 14, 15, and 17 November. Considering the availability of some overseas players, all the four franchises have made potential alterations in their squad. A total of 21 foreign players will feature in Pakistan’s marquee tournament.

One notable alteration has come in the form of veteran South African batsman Faf du Plessis, who has joined the Peshawar Zalmi as a replacement for Kieron Pollard, who will be touring New Zealand with the West Indies team.

“I’m very excited to join Peshawar Zalmi for the playoff stage games of PSL 2020. I have fond memories of playing in Pakistan when I toured with the ICC World XI in 2017 and I am sure this experience, although different due to Covid-19, will be a memorable one as well.” PSL’s official website quote Faf as saying.


Karachi Kings – Aamir Yamin, Alex Hales (England), Arshad Iqbal, Awais Zia, Babar Azam, Cameron Delport (South Africa), Chadwick Walton (West Indies), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mitchel McClenaghan (New Zealand), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Sharjeel Khan, Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Umaid Asif, Umer Khan,Usama Mir and Waqas Maqsood.

Lahore Qalandars – Abid Ali, Agha Salman, Ben Dunk (Australia), Dane Vilas (South Africa), David Wiese (South Africa), Fakhar Zaman, Dilbar Hussain, Farzan Raja, Haris Rauf, Jaahid Ali, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Samit Patel (England), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Akhtar, Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) and Usman Shinwari.

Multan Sultans – Adam Lyth (England), Ali Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Imran Tahir (South Africa), James Vince (England), Junaid Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mahmudullah (Bangladesh), Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Ravi Bopara (England), Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Rohail Nazir, Shaan Masood, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir, and Zeeshan Ashraf.

Peshawar Zalmi – Aamir Ali, Adil Amin, Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Daren Sammy (West Indies), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Haider Ali Khan, Hardus Viljoen (South Africa), Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Khurram Shehzad, Liam Livingstone (England), Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz and Yasir Shah.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply