WTC Final

Former Indian Test opener Wasim Jaffer took to Twitter and left a coded playing XI of Team India for the upcoming World Test Championship (WTC) Final against New Zealand, starting June 18 in Southampton.

Ahead of the marquee clash, there has been a lot of fuss regarding how Team India would line up against the Kiwis. While many feel that the management should go for 4 pacers and 1 spinner, some feel that playing three pacers and 2 spinners wouldn’t be bad either.

In the same light, Wasim Jaffer, who has become a social media sensation with his apt memes and coded messages, also named his Team India playing XI for the WTC Final. However, instead of naming the players, he mentioned their IPL franchises.

Meanwhile, Netizens successfully decoded Wasim Jaffer’s message in the comments section. Here’s how they reacted:

On Tuesday, the BCCI announced Team India’s 15-man squad for the WTC Final. While the core of the Test team remains intact, the likes of KL Rahul, Washington Sundar, and Mayank Agarwal are amongst the notable absentees.

Notably, the apex body has sent a 20-man squad to the United Kingdom for the WTC Final and five-match Test series against England. New Zealand also named a 15-man squad for the much-anticipated clash.

India’s squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicketkeeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (Captain), Tom Latham (Vice-captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (Wicketkeeper), Will Young

Leave a comment

Cancel reply