Indian wicketkeeper-batter Wriddhiman Saha has refused to play for Bengal.

Veteran wicketkeeper batter Wriddhiman Saha is a part of 22-member Bengal squad announced on Monday by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for the quarterfinals of the Ranji Trophy.

The 37-year-old had opted out of the league matches due to personal reasons. However, it was reported that he took the call after national coach Rahul Dravid told him that he was not in the plans of the team.

Saha’s return will boost Bengal’s chances as he has been in sublime form for Gujarat Titans in IPL 2022.

Bengal have also named Mohammed Shami in the squad. However, his participation depends on the clearance from the BCCI, as the apex body wants all the players to remain fresh ahead of England tour.

Bengal Squad: Abhimanyu Easwaran (c), Manoj Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha, Mohammad Shami (subject to BCCI clearance), Anustup Majumdar, Sudip Chatterjee, Shahbaz Ahmed, Abhishek Kumar Raman, Writtick Chatterjee, Sayan Shekhar Mandal, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep, Ishan Porel, Koushik Ghosh, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Pradipta Pramanik, Karan Lal, Nilkantha Das, Sudip Kr. Gharami, Abhishek Porel, Mohd. Kaif, Ankit Mishra,

Leave a comment

Cancel reply