Ishan Kishan and Tom Latham
Ishan Kishan tried dismissing Tom Latham, the way he did to Hardik Pandya

India and New Zealand engaged in a nail-biting thriller, as the Men in Blue won the first ODI by 12 runs to lead the three-match series 1-0.

India, batting first, put a massive 349 runs on the board with the help of a double century from Shubman Gill, which also fetched him the player of the match award. In reply, the Black Caps had a dismal start and were 131/6 before Michael Bracewell nearly sealed the deal for the Kiwis with his 140 runs knock.

The match was played fair and square from both ends, but one instance involving New Zealand skipper Tom Latham and Hardik Pandya caused a stir on the internet.

During Hardik’s batting, Tom Latham appeared to dislodge the bails with his hands and appeal for a clean bowled, which eventually was given out by the 3rd umpire and did not go well with the fans.

In reply, Ishan Kishan tried to mock the New Zealand skipper in the 2nd innings when Latham walked to bat by attempting a similar move.

During the 16th over, Ishan dislodged the bail by his hand and appealed for a hit wicket. While the fans looked at the funny side of it, the act did not go well with Sunil Gavaskar and Murali Kartik.

“You can appeal all you want, but it is not the right thing, said Kartik.” Meanwhile, Gavaskar blasted Kishan and said, “As a joke, it was okay. But to appeal and confuse the umpires was not the right thing. This is not cricket.”

Here are some of the fans’ reactions.

Kishan had a forgettable outing with the bat, as the 24-year-old walked back to the pavilion for just 5(14).

विदेशी टीमों से वर्ल्ड कप खेल रही हैं भारत की 5 बेटि – VIDEO

YouTube video

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *