The failure in the global tournament in 2021 was put on Kohli and Shastri by many.

The national selection committee has announced the squad for the Asia Cup 2022. While Virat Kohli and KL Rahul have returned, Shreyas Iyer and Axar Patel were dropped. They have been kept on standby in case one or two players get injured.

Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not considered due to injury concerns. Bumrah’s absence could trouble the team as he is one of the best bowlers in the shortest format.

India will take on arch-rivals Pakistan on August 28.

India are the defending champions and captain Rohit Sharma has already expressed his desire to retain the prestigious trophy he won as a skipper in 2018.

Team India squad for Asia Cup 2022 – Rohit Sharma (Capt ), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Standby Players – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chaha

Leave a comment

Cancel reply