Former Australia pacer Jason Gillespie took Deepti's side while quoting Michael Vaughan's tweet.

India completed a series whitewash over England in a controversial way after Charlotte Dean was ‘Mankaded’ by Deepti Sharma in the last ODI at Lord’s.

Chasing 170 to win, England needed just 17 after Dean (47) and Freya Davies’ (10no) good partnership of 35 runs for the last wicket but Deepti ran out non-striker Dean.

Despite ICC’s verdict on this mode of the dismissal, many still feel it is against the spirit of the game. The Indian bowler was in her delivery stride when she noticed that Dean was out of the crease. She took the bails off as India won the game to win the final contest.

Deepti was booed by fans as Dean left the ground in tears. “I will back my players,” said India captain Harmanpreet Kaur. “She has not done anything which is not in the rules.”

England captain Amy Jones added: “The last dismissal obviously divides opinion. I’m not a fan, but obviously it depends how India feel about that.”

Earlier, the Women in Blue were bowled out for 169. Deepti Sharma (68no) and Smriti Mandhana (50) were the oy contributors.

Meanwhile, the internet was divided as some backed the Indian player, while she was slammed by others.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply