Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma
Shikhar Dhawan joins Rohit Sharma and Sourav Ganguly in an alarming list

The Men in Blue ended their five consecutive ODI series win after New Zealand beat India 1-0 to hand the Shikhar Dhawan-led side their first series defeat in about ten months.

The new-look Indian side won the T20I series under the leadership of Hardik Pandya but failed to replicate the same in the fifty-over series under Shikhar Dhawan’s captaincy.

Shikhar has had a forgettable tour as a skipper and a batter. The 36-year-old scored 103 runs in three matches. Further, Gabbar played 19 ODIs in 2022 and amassed 670 runs at an average of 39.41.

The talking point out of Shikhar’s run this year has been his alarming strike rate. Dhawan registered a strike rate of 75.11, his lowest since 2011.

With this embarrassing strike rate, Dhawan registered the lowest strike rate by an Indian in ODIs since Rohit Sharma in 2008. (Minimum: 500 runs).

Dhawan joined the list of Sourav Ganguly, Rohit Sharma, and Gautam Gambhir for the lowest strike rate in a calendar year by an Indian and is ranked fourth.

Here is the list of Indian players with the lowest strike rate in a calendar year.

Sourav Ganguly – 71.93, (2007)

Rohit Sharma – 72.57, (2008)

Gautam Gambhir – 74.67, (2007)

Shikhar Dhawan – 75.11, (2022)

Ajinkya Rahane – 77.11, (2017)

अपनी बहू के साथ फंसे BCCI अध्यक्ष – VIDEO

YouTube video

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *