BCCI T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup is set to begin from October 17 in the UAE.

The 2021 T20 World Cup is set to begin from October 17 in the UAE, with the final for the 16-nation tournament will be held on November 14.

According to ESPNCricinfo, the showpiece event will start after the conclusion of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021. The final of the 14th edition of IPL is likely to take place on October 15.

Notably, the hosting rights of the T20 World Cup will remain with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Though the BCCI hasn’t confirmed anything officially and is yet to write to the International Cricket Council (ICC) about the shifting of the tournament outside India, the reports regarding the 20-over World Cup will be played in the middle east have already started doing the rounds on social media.

As per the current plan, the first round of the T20 World Cup will be split into two groups and is likely to take place in the UAE and Oman.

Round 1 will include 12 matches, comprising eight teams – Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea. Four of them will progress to the Super 12s, where they will join the other eight teams.

The Super 12s phase, including 30 matches, is scheduled to start on October 24.

The BCCI has been granted time till the end of June to let ICC know where they would host the T20 World Cup. 

Leave a comment

Cancel reply