The famous commentator has left out Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Rohit Sharma from the team.

Team India’s new white-ball skipper Rohit Sharma has surpassed former captain Virat Kohli in the list of most runs in T20Is. The 34-year old is currently second with Martin Guptill leading the table.

Virat has 3227 runs in the shortest format of the game. Rohit was dismissed after scoring 40 runs off just 19 in the first game of a three-match series at the Eden Gardens. The Kiwi opener has amassed 3299 in the slam bang version of the game.

Earlier, West Indies scored 157/7 from the allotted 20 overs. Nicholas Pooran 61 for the visitors.

India won the toss and opted to field in the first Twenty20 against West Indies at Eden Gardens on Wednesday.

The three-match series should help both teams in their preparations for the World Cup in Australia later this year.

After sweeping the ODI series 3-0, this is the first T20 assignment for India’s newly appointed white-ball captain Rohit Sharma.

Lokesh Rahul and Washington Sundar were ruled out after sustaining injuries during the ODI series.

Ishan Kishan, who was the most expensive buy at the 2022 Indian Premier League players’ auction, will open the innings with Sharma.

Highly rated 21-year-old leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi makes his T20 debut. India has fielded two leg spinners as he pairs up with Yuzvendra Chahal.

Harshal Patel, the highest wicket-taker in the 2021 IPL, is also part of a three-pacer attack.

Kieron Pollard returns to lead the West Indies after missing the last two ODIs. The visitors had beaten England 3-2 in a home T20 series prior to this tour.

Jason Holder is out injured and Roston Chase takes his place in the playing eleven.

The shortest format should mean a much closer contest between the two sides after India dominated the ODIs.

The pitch at the historic Eden Gardens should heavily favor the batsmen. Dew is a possibility and will help the side chasing.

All three T20s will be played at the same venue. The hospitality section of the stadium is open to select fans with more crowds expected from the second T20 onward.


West Indies: Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Rovman Powell, Kieron Pollard (capt), Roston Chase, Romario Shepherd, Akeal Hosein, Odean Smith, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell.

India: Ishan Kishan, Rohit Sharma (capt), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply