Rohit Sharma is approaching a couple of major records in T20Is. The 34-year old will lead India in a 3-match series against Sri Lanka.

Rohit Sharma demoted himself in the batting order to promote Ruturaj Gaikwad. While Gaikwad opened with Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer batted at number 3. The limited-overs skipper came at no.4 but his move backfired as he amassed 7 runs off 15 balls. His strike rate of 46.67 was one of the lowest registered by the Indian captain.

It was the second slowest innings by an Indian skipper, who has faced minimum 15 balls in T20Is. The list is led by MS Dhoni, who scored 9 runs off 27 balls against Australia in 2008.

Meanwhile, the Men in Blue accumulated 184/5 in 20 overs. Suryakumar Yadav (65 runs off 31 balls) and Venkatesh Iyer (35 not out off 19 balls) were the main contributors.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply