The Board of Cricket for Control in India (BCCI) has announced Team India's squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against England.

The Board of Cricket for Control in India (BCCI) on Saturday night announced Team India’s squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against England, scheduled to commence on March 12. All five games will be played at the newly-renovated Motera Stadium, which is also the venue for the third and fourth Test.

As far as India’s squad is concerned, Rishabh Pant has returned to the team after impressing in the ongoing Test series, with both bat and gloves. Meanwhile, SuryaKumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and Rahul Tewatia have earned their maiden call-ups, having impressed in IPL 2020 in UAE.

Kishan, who is currently leading Jharkhand in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, smashed 173 off just 94 balls, with 19 fours and 11 massive sixes, against MP in their first match. SuryaKumar, meanwhile, has been a consistent performer in both, Domestic circuit and IPL.

Meanwhile, veteran pacer, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, has also made his comeback after proving his fitness following an injury he sustained during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020. Also, Ravindra Jadeja’s absence sees Axar Patel return to the T20I squad with Sanju Samson being dropped from the team.

The selectors decided to announce an expanded squad, which has been the new norm due to coronavirus. Varun Chakravarthy has been recalled to the team after he had missed the Australia tour last year due to an injury. T Natarajan, who had replaced Chakravarthy in the squad, has also been retained in the squad.

India’s T20I squad for England series: 

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, and Shardul Thakur.

England’s T20I squad for India series:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (C), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Reece Topley (Surrey), and Mark Wood (Durham).

Leave a comment