Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) faced criticism from former India wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel

Wednesday, January 20, was officially the start of the Indian Premier League (IPL ) 2021 season as all eight franchises announced their lists of released and retained players for the 14th edition of the cash-lucrative league. The stage is all set for the IPL 14 mini auction and teams have made some tough calls while letting go of some big names.

However, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) faced criticism from former India wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel as he believes he was released by the franchise despite having announced his retirement in December 2020. He moved to RCB in 2018 and was tasked with the responsibility of opening the batting.

Parthiv scored 526 runs in 20 outings but didn’t get a chance to swing his bat in the recently-concluded IPL 13 despite travelling with the rest of the squad to the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

“An absolute honour to be released after being retired . …  thank you @RCBTweets,” Parthiv Patel tweeted.

RCB, on their website, didn’t use the world “release” when mentioning their departure with Patel.

Also, a day after announcing his retirement the former Gujarat captain had joined Mumbai Indians, his former franchise, as a talent scout.

“I had enjoyed my cricket playing for Mumbai Indians, those momentous three years with the champion sides remain etched in my memory. It’s time now to turn a new chapter in my life,” he had said.

RCB finished 4th in IPL 13 after nearly qualifying for the playoffs. Apart from Patel, RCB released a handfull of overseas stars, including Moeen Ali, Aaron Finch and Chris Morris.

Here’s a full list of retained and released RCB players ahead of IPL 2021 auctions

RCB Retained Players: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Gurkeerat Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Joshua Philippe, Pavan Deshpande, Shahbaz Ahamad, and Adam Zampa.

RCB Released Players: Umesh Yadav, Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Aaron Finch, Isuru Udana, Dale Steyn, Gurkeerat Mann, Shivam Dube, Pawan Negi, and Parthiv Patel (retired).

Leave a comment

Cancel reply