On this day in 2007, India defeated Pakistan in the inaugural T20 World Cup final, winning by 5 runs

On this day, September 24, India clinched a remarkable victory in the T20 World Cup 2007 final against Pakistan. This moment is etched in the hearts of Indian cricket fans. In a thrilling final held at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, India secured their maiden T20 World Cup by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan.

Led by a young MS Dhoni, the Indian team posted a competitive total of 157/5 in their allotted 20 overs. Gautam Gambhir played a pivotal role, contributing a solid 75 runs, while Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 30-run cameo provided the finishing touches.

In response, Pakistan’s chase had its ups and downs, with Imran Nazir’s quickfire 33 runs off just 14 balls giving them hope. However, Pakistan faltered, finding themselves at 77/6, seemingly on the brink of defeat. It was Misbah-ul-Haq who held their hopes together, taking the game down to the wire.

One iconic moment from that final was when MS Dhoni entrusted the inexperienced Joginder Sharma with the crucial responsibility of bowling the final over. Pakistan needed 13 runs to win with only one wicket in hand. Misbah-ul-Haq struck a full toss for a boundary, reducing the required runs to just five off four deliveries. However, what unfolded next remains etched in cricket history – Misbah attempted a risky scoop shot that backfired as S. Sreesanth held on for dear life at short fine leg.

This momentous victory in the T20 World Cup 2007 changed the landscape of T20 cricket in India forever. To this day, it remains India’s sole triumph in eight attempts at the men’s T20 World Cup.

Watch here: