Tamim Iqbal
Tamim Iqbal said that he doesn't see anything wrong with the non-striker run-out

Bangladesh’s senior batsman, Tamim Iqbal, has weighed in on the controversial non-striker run-out incident that transpired during the 2nd ODI between Bangladesh and New Zealand in Mirpur. The incident involved Ish Sodhi and Hasan Mahmud and has sparked a debate about the fairness of such dismissals.

During the 46th over of New Zealand’s innings, Hasan Mahmud executed a non-striker run-out, catching Ish Sodhi off guard as he strayed too far from the crease. However, the stand-in captain, Litton Das, acted swiftly, consulting with the umpires and ultimately deciding to recall Sodhi.

Tamim Iqbal addressed the issue during a post-match press conference, emphasizing the legality of this mode of dismissal and his personal perspective on the matter.

“I don’t see anything wrong with that, he said. There is a rule. We shouldn’t, in my opinion, respond the way people do these days if we manage to get someone or ourselves out in that way. It’s a collective decision, in my opinion,” he said.

“We will take wickets in this manner if the team decides to do so. We won’t attempt it if we don’t want to take it. Bringing back a batter after getting him out doesn’t seem smart to me. We can either accept it or not do it,” Tamim added.

In a heartwarming gesture, Ish Sodhi hugged Hasan Mahmud for his sportsmanship following the incident.

Sodhi went on to play a pivotal role in New Zealand’s victory, contributing with both the bat and the ball. He smashed three sixes during his 35-run innings from 39 balls and recorded his best ODI bowling figures of 6 wickets for 39 runs. These outstanding performances played a significant role in New Zealand’s 86-run triumph.