The batter revealed that he was trying to repeat Yuvraj Singh's magical performance of six sixes in one over.

Yuvraj Singh is backing New Zealand to win the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 final against Australia in Dubai. Neither team has won the global tournament of the shortest format of the game

Australia came close in 2010, but the Men Yellow were defeated by England in the finale of the T20 World Cup. The last time two teams met at a World Cup final was in 2015. Although the Kiwis defeated Australia in the group stage, the final at the MCG went Aussies way.

But repeating the same kind of performance won’t be easy for the Aaron Finch-led side.

“I think New Zealand will win! What about you?,” Yuvraj tweeted.

Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to field in the T20 World Cup final against New Zealand as both teams chase their elusive maiden title on Sunday.

Odds heavily favour teams chasing at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in the tournament with 11 out of 12 games won by the sides fielding first.

Australia retained the same playing XI that defeated Pakistan by five wickets at the same venue last Thursday when Matthew Wade smashed three successive sixes against Shaheen Afridi in the penultimate over.

Finch said the wicket looked “a bit drier” than the one on which Australia played against Pakistan and hoped by opting to field first “we have put ourselves in a good position” to win the first T20 title.

New Zealand had to make one forced change from the side that beat England — also by five wickets — with an over to spare at Abu Dhabi. Devon Conway was ruled out of the final due to a bizarre injury he picked up when he struck his right hand with his bat after getting dismissed against England. Tim Siefert replaced Conway and will also keep the wicket in the final.

Williamson said he would have also fielded had he won the toss, but now wanted to “focus on the task at hand” by trying to put a competitive total on the board.

New Zealand has not won against Australia in a knockout stage of any tournament since 1981, including four knockout games at ICC events.


Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson, Tim Seifert, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Leave a comment

Cancel reply