KL Rahul and Axar Patel have been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against West Indies. They have been replaced by Ruturaj Gaikwad and Deepak Hooda. KL Rahul missed the ongoing third and final ODI against the Nicholas Pooran-led team due to a niggle.

However, the BCCI confirmed that Rahul injured his left hamstring while fielding in the second match at the Narendra Modi stadium.

Axar, on the other hand, had tested positive for COVID-19 and needs more time to recover.

“Rahul sustained an upper left hamstring strain during fielding in the 2nd ODI on 9th February 2022 while Axar has resumed the final stage of his rehabilitation after recently recovering from Covid-19. They will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of their injury,” the release stated.

India’s updated T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda

Leave a comment

Cancel reply