Gautam Gambhir was in no mood to spare David Warner for his six on a two-bounce delivery which had slipped out of Mohammad Hafeez’s hands in the semi-final of the ICC T20 World Cup. He slammed the left-handed batter, who was dismissed in a strange way.
Warner was up against Shadab Khan, who was Pakistan’s best bowler in the game. On a short ball outside the off stump, Warner went for a cut-short but completely missed the delivery which landed into the gloves of Mohammad Rizwan. The bowler and wicketkeeper went up in jubilation and even the umpire raised his finger.
The Aussie opener went back to the pavilion thinking he was out. However, after checking on ultra edge, no spike was detected meaning the batter made a big mistake by not going for DRS.
Reflecting on Warner’s dismissal, Gambhir said he paid the price for his wrong act against Hafeez. “Karma is a great leveller,” said the former India player.