India cricket T20I team
ICC released the nominees for T20I cricketer of the year.

On Thursday, the ICC released the nominees for the T20I cricketer of the year award. The international board shortlisted four cricketers for the prestigious award, for which the voting will begin in the first week of January.

The ICC has shortlisted India’s Suryakumar Yadav, England’s Sam Curran, Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza, and Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan for their contribution to the shortest format of the game in this calendar year.

Suryakumar Yadav solidified India’s middle-order woes with a stellar performance this year. SKY amassed 1164 runs in 31 matches this year, the most by any player in 2022 and became the first Indian to score more than 1000+ runs in a calendar year.

SKY’s best innings came against England when he scored his maiden T20I century and amassed 117(55).

Sikandar Raza emerged as one of the best all-rounders this year as he scored 735 runs with the bat and picked up 25 wickets in 24 matches.

Raza came to the limelight after uplifting Zimbabwe’s hopes to qualify for the last four of the T20 World Cup after a stellar display against Pakistan, where he took three wickets and produced a crucial run-out.

IPL’s most expensive buy, Sam Curran, was the player in the finals and the tournament in the T20 World Cup and earned the reputation of a quality T20I bowler.

Curran has taken 25 wickets in 19 matches and scored 67 runs. His best performance was in the T20 World Cup final, where he picked up a three-wicket haul for just 12 runs.

Mohammad Rizwan had a dismal year in terms of trophies but was among the runs.  The 30-year-old scored 996 runs in 25 matches and hit ten half-centuries.

Rizwan’s best performance was against England, where he scored 88 off 51 balls. The wicket-keeper batsman ends the year as 2nd best ranked T20I batter.

अब टेस्ट सीरीज में भिड़ेंगे भारत-पाकिस्तान – VIDEO

YouTube video

Leave a comment