The ICC has announced the prize money for the winners and runners-up of the India vs Australia World Test Championship (WTC) final. The highly anticipated match is scheduled to take place at The Oval in England from June 7 to 11, with June 12 serving as the reserve day.

According to the ICC, both teams participating in the Australia-India WTC final will have a significant incentive. Alongside the prestigious Test mace, the winners will receive a substantial prize money of $1.6 million, while the losing finalists will pocket $800,000.

This prize money remains consistent with the inaugural edition of the championship, the ICC World Test Championship 2019-21, which boasted a total purse of $3.8 million.

In the previous edition of the WTC, the New Zealand team, led by Kane Williamson, emerged victorious and received a prize money of $1.6 million. They achieved this impressive feat by defeating India with an eight-wicket victory in the final held in Southampton two years ago.

For the ongoing ICC World Test Championship 2021-23, all nine participating teams will have a share in the $3.8 million prize purse. South Africa, finishing third in the standings, earned a commendable $450,000.

Notably, England made a strong comeback with their aggressive playing style and secured the fourth spot, resulting in a reward of $350,000.

Unfortunately, Sri Lanka, who had a chance to qualify for the final, faced defeat against New Zealand, causing them to drop to fifth place. They received a prize money share of $200,000. On the other hand, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh, ranking sixth to ninth respectively, will each be awarded $100,000.