The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced its ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year.

The ICC has announced the nominees for the 2021 ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Year awards. Mohammed Rizwan, Mitchell Marsh, Wanindu Hasaranga and Jos Buttler are the contenders to win the award.

Mohammad Rizwan – Pakistan

1326 runs in 29 matches, 24 dismissals

Pakistan wicket-keeper batter Rizwan scored 1326 runs in only 29 matches. He struck his runs at an average of 73.66 and a strike rate of 134.89. The right-handed batter scored the maiden T20I century of his career against South Africa.

Wanindu Hasaranga – Sri Lanka

36 wickets in 20 matches at 11.63, 196 runs with one half-century

He was a revelation in the shortest format of the game. Hasaranga finished as the leading wicket-taker in the ICC TG20 World Cup with 16 scalps and chipped in with the bat.

Mitchell Marsh – Australia

627 runs in 27 matches at 36.88; 8 wickets at 18.37

He was Australia’s main hero in the slam-bang version of the game. The all-around star played a crucial role in Australia’s T20 World Cup win in the UAE. Marsh amassed 185 runs in 6 matches at an average of 61.66 and a healthy strike rate of 146.82 in the World Cup.

Jos Buttler – England

589 runs in 14 matches at 65.44 with one century; 13 dismissals

Buttler played some magnificent knocks in the ongoing year. He did not disappoint in the World Cup scoring 269 runs for England.

Babar Azam, who was outstanding in 2021, failed to make it to the list.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply