Ganguly wanted to continue as the head of the board but was informed that there is no rule of giving a second term to the president.

The second season of the Legends League Cricket (LLC) is set to commence in India from September 16 onwards. Four-team tournament would feature retired cricketers in 15-matches.

Meanwhile, Ravi Shastri, the commissioner of the league has confirmed that BCCI president Sourav Ganguly would also return as a player for one match between India Maharajas and World Giants on September 15 at Eden Gardens, the home ground of Dada.

Ganguly would captain India Maharajas. The match would be played to celebrate the 75th Independence Day.

Former head coach Ravi Shastri said, “It’s a proud moment for all Indians, celebrating 75th year of Independence. It gives me immense happiness to announce that this league is dedicated towards the 75th Independence anniversary.”

India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (c), Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha, Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma

World Giants: Eoin Morgan (c), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior, Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O’Brien, Denesh Ramdin.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply