Virat Kohli led India in four ICC tournaments but failed to win a title for the country. While Pakistan thumped India in the finale of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017, New Zealand knocked out India from the semis of the fifty-over World Cup in 2019.

Kane Williamson-led team met India in the title clash match of the World Test Championship in England. India again lost the final of a global event. The Men in Blue’s ouster from the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup was not taken lightly by the biggies of the Indian cricket board.

After Virat’s decision to step down from his post in T20Is, the national selection committee decided to sack him from ODI captaincy as well.

“I can’t explain more about all was discussed and what selectors have said, but this is primary reason (Not Winning ICC Trophy) for having Rohit Sharma as White Ball Captain and Virat Kohli accepted it,” said Ganguly.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply