England Cricket Team

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Tuesday named a 15-man squad for the two-match Test series against New Zealand, starting at Lord’s on Wednesday, June 2. The Edgbaston in Birmingham will host the second Test from June 10.

Gloucestershire wicketkeeper-batsman James Bracey and Sussex seamer Ollie Robinson have received their maiden call-ups. Both players have impressed in the ongoing County Championship.

While Bracey has scored 478 runs at an average of 53, Robinson has taken 29 wickets at an average of 14. Both players had toured as reserves during England’s tour of Sri Lanka and India.

Meanwhile, Somerset all-rounder Craig Overton, who last featured for England in a Test match in September 2019 against Australia at the Old Trafford, has been recalled to the side in the absence of star all-rounder Ben Stokes, who is recovering from a fractured finger.

The likes Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran and Chris Woakes have all been rested after completing a quarantine period following the cancellation of the Indian Premier League earlier this month.

England’s squad for NZ Test series:

Joe Root (C) (Yorkshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Zak Crawley (Kent), Ben Foakes (wk) (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Craig Overton (Somerset), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Olly Stone (Warwickshire) and Mark Wood (Durham).

Leave a comment

Cancel reply