Mohammed Shami
The 32-year-old marked his return to the national side after almost a year.

With no Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel in the Asia Cup 2022 squad, fans were hoping to see Mohammed Shami’s name but the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee didn’t consider him for the prestigious event.

Their decision has confirmed that Shami is not in the scheme of things for the ICC T20 World 2022.

Earlier, it was reported that selectors have already informed the veteran that his services are not required in the shortest format of the game.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul made a return to the squad. While Kohli was rested for the West and Zimbabwe tours, Rahul was missing from the action due to injuries and COVID-19.

Team India squad for Asia Cup 2022 – Rohit Sharma (Capt ), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Standby Players – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chaha

Leave a comment