BBL 2020-21

Cricket Australia (CA) on Wednesday announced the team of the tournament for the 2020-21 edition of the Big Bash League (BBL), as picked by the BBL coaches. Syndey Sixers’ Josh Philippe and Sydney Thunder’s Alex Hales are the openers and it’s not quite debatable as they are the leading run-scorers.

Hales is leading the charts with 535 runs with a top score of 110 while Philippe missed out on becoming the first Sydney Sixers’ batter to get a BBL century. Both the Syndey clubs have made it through to the BBL playoffs.

Hobart Hurricanes Ben McDermott follows the openers despite his team crashing out of the tournament. Perth Scorchers’ Colin Munro was slotted at number four after he notched 411 runs at an average of 34.25 for the three-time champions.

Though last season’s runner-ups Melbourne Stars couldn’t make it to the playoffs, their skipper, Glenn Maxwell, has found a place in the team. Maxwell scored 379 runs and also picked up seven wickets.

Sixers’ Daniel Christian comes at number 5 for his exploits with the bat. The veteran all-rounder picked up 252 runs at a strike-rate of 186.66 and also picked up 13 wickets. Rashid Khan, who is not a part of the ongoing BBL anymore, made an impact big enough for Adelaide Strikers to take a spot in the team.

Jhye Richardson has been excellent for the Scorchers as he is the leading wicket-taker with 27 wickets from 14 matches at an economy of 7.08. Brisbane Heat’s Mark Steketee, Stars’ Adam Zampa, and Striker’s Wes Agar complete the BBL 2020-21 line-up.

Marcus Stoinis and Daniel Sams have been named the X-factor players.

Here’s the BBL team of the tournament:

Josh Philippe, Alex Hales, Ben McDermott, Colin Munro, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Rashid Khan, Jhye Richardson, Mark Steketee, Adam Zampa, and Wes Agar.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply