Babar Azam
Former Pakistan captain Salman Butt has defended Babar Azam on his strike rate in T20Is.

The ICC has announced the Men’s ODI team of 2022, with Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj getting a place. Babar Azam is the captain and one of the openers of the team. He scored 679 runs at a stunning average of 84.87 last year.

Travis Head is his opening partner as he notched up 550 runs from nine games at 68.75. 

Shai Hope of West Indies occupies the third spot with 709 runs and three hundreds coming from his bat. 

India’s Shreyas Iyer was among the top performers as he amassed 724 in 17 games.

Tom Latham has got the wicket-keeping responsibility. He hit 558 runs and affected 16 dismissals in 15 games.

Sikandar Raza (645 runs and eight wickets), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (330 runs and 24 wickets) and Alzarri Joseph (27 wickets) have been rewarded.

Mohammed Siraj (24 wickets), Trent Boult (18 wickets), and Adam Zampa (30 wickets) complete the team.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of 2022

Babar Azam (c), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wk), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult and Adam Zampa

Leave a comment