Kamran Akmal
Picture: PCB Twitter

Pakistan‘s all-format skipper, Babar Azam, on Sunday, shattered the record books by becoming the fastest batsman to reach 2,000 men’s T20I runs. He got to the landmark in 52 T20I innings, thereby overtaking Team India skipper Virat Kohli.

He achieved the feat against Zimbabwe in the third and final T20 here at the Harare Sports Club. Before the start of the match, he needed to score 17 runs to breach the 2000-run mark.

Babar Azam walked out to bat after the end of the fifth over of the innings when Luke Jongwe got rid of Sharjeel Khan for 18 runs. He scored his 2000th run in the second ball of 13th over when he hit Ryan Burl for a boundary.

Virat Kohli had taken 56 innings to breach the 2,000-run mark in the shortest format of the game. New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum and Martin Guptill are next on the list, achieving the milestone in 66 and 68 T20I innings, respectively.

Fastest to 2,000 T20I runs (men’s):

Babar Azam – 52 innings

Virat Kohli – 56 innings

Aaron Finch – 62 innings

Brendon McCullum – 66 innings

Martin Guptill – 68 innings

Majority of his T20I runs have come while playing in Pakistan. In 17 innings, Babar Azam has amassed 669 runs to his tally at an average of 47.78. He had made his T20I debut in 2016 against England.

Leave a comment