Aakash Chopra has picked his Test team of the year, with four Indian players making it to the Playing XI.

Aakash Chopra has picked his Test team of the year, with four Indian players making it to the Playing XI. Kane Williamson-led New Zealand won the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship.

While revealing his team, Aakash Chopra named Rohit Sharma as his first opener. “Rohit Sharma is the first name that comes to mind. He was in love with the longest format that year, and it was a big year. He played match-winning knocks, from the century in Chennai to the consistent performances in England.”

Dimuth Karunaratne will bat with Rohit Sharma. “My second opener is Dimuth Karunaratne from Sri Lanka. He also has runs, which include a double century. He also played well against West Indies. Although he might not be very appealing to the eye, he scores run.”

Joe Root and Kane Williamson were kept at the No.3 and 4 spots.

“There was no competition at No.3. Joe Root is part of this team. He is miles ahead of the rest and the best Test batter in 2021. He is in an entirely different league. He was amazing.

Williamson is my No.4. He won the final with his team after scoring a double century against Pakistan. He also played an important role in the final. Kane Williamson is the captain of this team.”

Pakistan’s Fawad Alam managed to find a place in Aakash’s team.

“My team has Fawad Alam. He is persistent and will continue to play regardless of whether you choose him. He has had runs with notable performances against South Africa (109), Zimbabwe (140) and West Indies (124).

Rishabh Pant got the wicket-keeper batter’s slot.

“Rishabh Pant is the keeper. Jos Buttler was also a thought. Rishabh Pant’s performances – 101 against England and 89 at Gabba and a ninety in Sydney. He has been extremely good.”

Kyle Jamieson and R Ashwin made it to the Playing XI.

“After that, Jamieson was my choice. He seems to have been born to play Test cricket. He stretches his arm and takes five wickets. He is a phenomenal player who has taken wickets all over the world and bats well.

“I am now picking two Indians. Ravichandran Ashwin has taken many wickets. He was amazing against England in India. He also scored a century in England. It is clear that he is Test cricket’s number one spinner.

Axar Patel, James Anderson, and Shaheen Shah Afridi completed the bowling line-up.

Aakash Chopra’s Test XI of 2021: Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne, Joe Root, Kane Williamson (c), Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant, Kyle Jamieson, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, James Anderson, Shaheen Afridi

Leave a comment

Cancel reply