Despite his good performance in the first leg of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021, Shikhar Dhawan was not considered for the ICC T20 World Cup in the UAE.

On his YouTube channel, former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra picked India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul were his first three picks. Chopra also opined whether Kohli could open the innings for the Men in Blue.

Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav also made it to Aakash’s team. Rishabh Pant will don the wicket-keeping gloves in the squad named by the former India opener for the global event. 

Chopra also stated that Ravindra Jadeja’s place is confirmed. The veteran is not convinced with Washington Sundar and opted for Hardik Pandya and Venkatesh Iyer as the all-rounders. 

Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah are sure of playing in the World Cup in Australia, according to him. Chopra then added that Bhuvneshwar Kumar or Deepak Chahar would find a place in the national team. 

Chopra also claimed that one out of Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, or Avesh Khan would find a slot. The cricketer-turned-commentator then said that one out of Mohammed Shami, T Natarajan, or Khaleel Ahmed would be a part of Rohit Sharma-led Indian outfit.

Chopra also said that Shardul Thakur has less chance of traveling to Australia, and Team India will have a problem in the death overs.

Aakash Chopra’s Team India squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Venkatesh Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar/Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna/Avesh Khan/Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami/T Natarajan/Khaleel Ahmed

Leave a comment

Cancel reply