Former India opener Aakash Chopra has named his Indian Playing XI for the first Test against Sri Lanka in Mohali.

The hosts will have a new batting line-up with Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane dropped and KL Rahul injured.

Aakash feels Shubman Gill will not get a chance at No.3. “The two spots are vacant with no Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara in the side. Shubman Gill will not play. I know he is a No.3 batter but he will have to wait for his turn,” said Aakash Chopra.

The renowned cricket expert wants Shreyas Iyer and Hanuma Vihari to bat at No. 3 and 5 batting spots.

“Shreyas Iyer and Hanuma Vihari at No. 3 and 5 for me. You will go with six batters with Rishabh Pant being one of them,” he added.

He further talked about the complete batting order. “Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal will open the innings while Shreyas Iyer batting at No.3. Virat Kohli, Hanuma Vihari and Rishabh Pant will complete the remaining list.”

The former KKR player said that he will go with two genuine spinners. “R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are the preferred ones. However, if Ashwin is not fit, I want Jayant Yadav to play.”

The 44-year old concluded by naming the three pacers. “Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj will make it to the Playing XI.”

Aakash Chopra’s Indian XI for the 1st Test: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin/Jayant Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Leave a comment

Cancel reply