Himachal Pradesh created history on Sunday by winning their first ever Vijay Hazare Trophy in a thrilling finale against Tamil Nadu in Jaipur.

Chasing 315, HP were 299/4 in 47 when the play was suspended due to bad light and Himachal Pradesh were declared winners by 11 runs as they were ahead on VJD method.

Himachal Pradesh won the toss and opted to field first. Dinesh Karthik (116 off 103), Baba Indrajith (80 off 71 balls), Shahrukh Khan (42 off 21) and captain Vijay Shankar (22 off 16) took Tamil Nadu to 314-all out in 49.4 overs.

Chasing 315 runs to win, Shubam Arora (136* off 131 balls) and Amit Kumar (74 off 79) kept Himachal Pradesh in the hunt. Rishi Dhawan’s blinder – 42* off 23 put the team in front before they won the game after play was suspended.

Rishi Dhawan was the star of the campaign. In 8 matches, he scored 458 runs at an average of 76.34, which included 5 fifties. He took 17 wickets at an average of 23.35.

The all-rounder was the second highest run-scorer and wicket-taker in the tournament.

The 31-year old has represented India in 3 ODIs and one T20I. His performance could book his place in the squad for the upcoming ODI series in South Africa.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply