Indian Cricket team

FULL NAMEIndia National Cricket Team
NICKNAMEMen in Blue, Team India
PROMINENT GROUNDHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium Dharamshala
TEAM OWNER(S)Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI)
PROMINENT PLAYERSKL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant
Indian Cricket Team Social ProfileFacebook, Twitter, Instagram

Latest News

Indian Cricket Team

ODI SquadRole
Rohit Sharma (Captain)Batsman
KL Rahul (Vice-captain)Batsman
Ruturaj GaikwadBatsman
Shikhar DhawanBatsman
Virat KohliBatsman
Surya Kumar YadavBatsman
Shreyas IyerBatsman
Deepak HoodaBatsman
Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper)Batsman
Deepak ChaharBowler
Shardul ThakurBowler
Yuzvendra ChahalBowler
Kuldeep YadavBowler
Washington SundarBowler
Ravi BishnoiBowler
Mohd. SirajBowler
Prasidh KrishnaBowler
Avesh KhanBowler
Rahul Dravid (Coach)
Indian Cricket Team

About the Indian Cricket Team

Captain – Rohit Sharma
Head coach – Rahul Dravid
Assistant coach – Sanjay Bangar
Representing – India
Team colour – Blue
Sponsorship – Nike, Byju’s

The India men’s national cricket team, also known as Team India or the Men in Blue represents India in men’s international cricket. The Indian cricket team represents the whole of India in international fixtures including bilateral series against other nations or any of the global events organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) like the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup and the ICC World Test Championship. It is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and is a Full Member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test, One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) status.


The Indian team was an integral part of international cricket events since they played their first-ever Test match way back in 1932. They have participated in every multi-nation tournament organized by the ICC over the years.

ODI Team

ICC Cricket World Cup

Team India participated in all World Cups since the inaugural edition in 1975. They have won the Championship twice, in 1983 and 2011 under Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni respectively. They were finalists in the 2003 edition in South Africa. They co-hosted the World Cup in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

ICC T20 World Cup

The Indians kick-started their T20 World Cup campaign with a win in the inaugural edition of the tournament held in South Africa. They later played another Final in the 2014 World T20 when they lost to Sri Lanka cricket team. The 2016 edition of the tournament was conducted in India.

ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy (earlier known as ICC Knockout Trophy) is the most successful tournament for the subcontinent team as they won it twice (once shared) and finished as Runners Up twice. They lost to New Zealand in the second edition in 2000 that was conducted in Kenya.

They shared the trophy with Sri Lanka in the next edition in 2002 as the Final could not be completed due to persistent rain even on the reserve day. Later, they became single champions for the first time in 2013 in England and Wales. However, they lost the Final against the Pakistan cricket team in the 2017 edition in the same nation. India has hosted the Champions Trophy in 2006.

Asia Cup

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) conducts the Asia Cup, which is primarily a 50-over competition among Asian nations. Only the 2016 edition of the Asia Cup was a T20 tournament. The Indian team has won the title 7 times including the T20 edition and finished as Runners up thrice. India has participated in every edition of the Asia Cup since the inaugural edition in 1984 except the one in 1986.

Fan following

The Indian cricket team has the benefit of having a fan base that crosses the billion-mark in the home country. This leads to the fact that no stadium in the nation has a vacant seat left when the Indian team is playing. The passion for the game among Indians is huge and can be compared to the passion among Europeans for football. The crowd support always benefits the home side and this is one team that has crowd support almost anywhere in the world.

They have more than half of the crowd cheering for them in any country they visit. Let alone the cricket-playing nations like the SENA countries (South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia) but also in the United States where they played a couple of T20I series against the West Indies.

The BCCI has close to 10 million followers on Twitter, over 10.5 million followers on Instagram and 3 million followers on Facebook. The Indian cricketers have a huge impact on the fan base on social media.

Trophies and Awards

YearTrophy / Award
1983ICC Cricket World Cup
1984Asia Cup
1985World Championship of Cricket (Declared as the Team of the Century by Wisden)
1988Asia Cup
1990/91Asia Cup
1993Hero Cup
1995Asia Cup
2002ICC Champions Trophy (shared with Sri Lanka)
2007ICC T20 World Cup
2010Asia Cup
2011ICC Cricket World Cup
2013ICC Champions Trophy
2016Asia Cup (T20I)
2018Asia Cup
Indian Cricket Team Records


Indian Cricket Team’s Unknown Facts

Who is India’s best bowler in the Indian Cricket Team?

Kapil Dev, In 225 ODIs, managed to score 3783 runs and picked 253 wickets with the ball at an average of 27.4.

Who is the best hitter in India Team?

Sachin Tendulkar, India’s best-ever batsman, is none other than Sachin Tendulkar.

Who built Indian cricket?

Cricket was introduced to India by European merchant sailors in the 18th century, and the first cricket club was established in 1792.

Who is the First Captian of the Indian Cricket Team?

C. K. Nayudu, On 25 June 1932 it became the sixth Test nation after England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and New Zealand. The Indian team was first led by C. K. Nayudu against England at the Lord’s.

Who is the most successful captain in India?

Virat Kohli is India’s most successful captain with an overall win percentage of 63.38. Under the aggressive skipper, India won 65 of 95 ODIs, 30 of 50 T20Is and 39 off 66 Tests. Despite not winning any ICC trophy, With 39 wins in Test matches, Kohli is the most successful Test captain from India.

Buy Now