The 2019 Cricket World Cup will commence from May 30 in England and Wales. The megaevent will culminate on July 14. England and India are prime favorites to win the 50-overs cricket World Cup. They are ranked no.1 and no.2 in ICC ODI team rankings and have been performing brilliantly in the last few years. 

India’s former pacer and World Cup winner, Zaheer Khan named his Indian squad for the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Here is the Indian World Cup 2019 squad named by Zaheer Khan:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), MS Dhoni (wk), Ambati Rayudu/Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul/a fast bowler.  

Zaheer told Cricbuzz, “The main factor which will up for the debate is basically you want to go with four fast bowlers and Hardik Pandya or you want to take that chance and say okay, Hardik Pandya is our fourth seamer,” Zaheer said, adding the latter option would give India the space to accommodate an extra batsman. According to him, two players out of Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul would get a nod if Pandya is picked as the fourth bowler.

“I still feel the four fast bowler option is still important. Considering the fact that the World Cup is going to be a long tournament. So you don’t want a bowler to come from outside and right away try to fit in the squad. So when you are picking your squad, you would want to cover all your bases,” he added.

Leave a comment