Former India batsman Sanjay Manjrekar is set to make his comeback in the commentary panel during upcoming India’s tour of Australia. He has been away from the on-air duties since March.

Just before the start of the India-South Africa ODI series in March, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) sacked Manjrekar and the news was confirmed when he didn’t travel to Dharamsala for the opening ODI.

Before the start of the recently-concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020, Manjrekar even wrote to BCCI twice to rehire him in the panel but the board decided not to do so. As far as the forthcoming India-Australia series is concerned, the BCCI cannot have much say in picking the panel as Cricket Australia (CA) holds the hosting rights.

Manjrekar’s sacking came after he called Ravindra Jadeja a bits-and-pieces player during the ICC 50-over World Cup in England last year. He also had an on-air dispute with senior analyst Harsha Bhogle in November last year.

Apart from Manjrekar, Glenn McGrath, Nick Knight, Harsha Bhogle, Ajay Jadeja, Murali Kartik, and Ajit Agarkar will also be part of the English panel. Meanwhile, in the Hindi panel, Virender Sehwag, who made his commentary debut in 2016, is the star attraction.

Former India pacer Zaheer Khan, Vijay Dahiya, Mohammad Kaif, Vivek Razdan, and Arjun Pandit will also share their expertise during the series. India’s tour of Australia is slated to commence on November 27.

Both teams will lock horns in three ODIs, as many T20Is, followed by a four-match Border-Gavaskar Test series, starting with a Day/Night Test at the Adelaide Oval. MCG (from December 26), SCG (from January 7, and the Gabba (from January 15) will host the next three Test matches.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply