PUNE, India (AP) — Arshdeep Singh registered an unwanted record in the second T20I between India and Sri Lanka. He returned to the team after missing the opening game due to illness.

He bowled three consecutive no-balls in his first over and ended up conceding 19 runs. Arshdeep has bowled the most no-balls in the history of the shortest format.

With his 12th no-ball, he surpassed Hasan Ali’s record of 11 no-balls.

The visitors were 96/3 with Kusal Mendis scoring 52 off 31 balls. He hit 4 sixes and 3 fours in his aggressive knock.

Earlier, India won the toss and opted to bowl first against Sri Lanka in the second Twenty20 on Thursday.

India leads the three-match series after winning the first game in Mumbai by two runs.

The host made two changes. Batsman Sanju Samson was ruled out of the series owing to an injury while fielding in Mumbai. Rahul Tripathi came in and will make his T20 debut for India. The batsman has earned plaudits with his heavy hitting in the Indian Premier League.

Left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh was playing in place of Harshal Patel, who was expensive in the first game.

Sri Lanka was unchanged.

The pitch at MCA Stadium suits batsmen, and sides batting first have a better record. Dew could play a role as the game progresses.


India: Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Rahul Tripathi, Hardik Pandya (captain), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply