Punjab Kings (PBKS) have been one of the most underperforming sides in the Indian Premier League over the years.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) have been one of the most underperforming sides in the Indian Premier League over the years. They have played all the 14 editions of the T20 league to date. They made the semi-finals during the inaugural edition in 2008 and finished runners-up in 2014. That was the last time they reached the playoffs. They finished last in 2015 and 2016, and over the last three seasons, they have finished in the sixth position. Even a change in name from Kings XI Punjab to Punjab Kings did not change their fortunes last season. Despite their poor record, Punjab do hold some records in the IPL.

1 Highest individual score in a playoff match

Former Punjab opener Virender Sehwag holds the record for the highest individual score by a batter in a playoff match. Sehwag achieved the feat against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) during Qualifier 2 of the IPL 2014 edition at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Punjab batted first in the innings and hammered 122 off 58 balls with 12 fours and eight sixes. Thanks to Sehwag’s heroics, Punjab finished their innings on 226 for 6. Suresh Raina smashed 87 off only 25 balls for CSK, but the chasing side still finished on 202 for 7.

2 Failing to reach playoffs for 7 seasons in a row

This is definitely not a record they would be proud of, but it stands in their name. After their failure to go past the league stage last season, Punjab Kings failed to reach the playoffs for the seventh time in a row. With this, they went past Delhi Capitals’ (DC) record, who did not reach the playoffs for six seasons on the trot. Punjab made the finals in 2014, finishing runners-up. In subsequent seasons, they finished last in 2015 and 2016, 5th in 2017, 7th in 2018, and 6th in the last three seasons.

3. Most runs conceded in a home game

During match 44 of IPL 2018, Kings XI Punjab took on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Holkar Stadium in Indore. Punjab won the toss and sent the opponents into bat. They conceded a mammoth 245 for 6. KKR’s Sunil Narine registered his top score of 75 runs in only 36 deliveries. He hit nine fours and four sixes in his innings. Dinesh Karthik also slammed 50 off 23 balls. For Punjab, KL Rahul scored 66 off 29 while Ravichandran Ashwin hammered 45 off 22. However, Punjab still fell short, ending on 214 for 8.

4. Most losses by 10 wickets 

Mumbai Indians (MI) have lost three matches by a margin of 10 wickets. However, the unwanted record is in the name of Punjab Kings, who have suffered defeat by that margin four times. Delhi defeated them by 10 wickets in 2009 when they chased down a revised target of 54 runs (D/L method). Chennai Super Kings beat them in 2013 as Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey hit the fifties to aid the team in chasing 139 runs. RCB bowled out Punjab for 88 in 2018 and then gunned down the target with Virat Kohli and Parthiv Patel at the crease. In 2020, CSK chased 179 against PBKS with all 10 wickets as Faf du Plessis, and Shane Watson slammed unbeaten 80s.

5. Two hat-tricks in one season

Former Punjab Kings captain Yuvraj Singh holds the unique record of having claimed two hat-tricks in one season during the 2009 edition. Yuvraj’s first hat-trick came against Royal Challengers Bangalore, where he dismissed Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, and Mark Boucher in three consecutive deliveries. However, despite Yuvraj’s heroics, RCB lost the match as they failed to chase down 146. His second hat-trick came against Deccan Chargers. In a thrilling encounter, he dismissed Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, and Venugopal Rao as Punjab won the match by one run, defending a target of 135.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply