The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League is set to start from Saturday, March 26 onwards.

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League is set to start from Saturday, March 26 onwards. From this season onwards, we are set to witness 10 teams fighting for the prestigious trophy. With the inclusion of two new sides, the IPL will promise plenty of fireworks in the two-month-long cash-rich league. 

Over the years in the IPL, we have had several top-notch records which are yet to be touched or broken. Ahead of a crunch IPL 2022 season, we decode several unbreakable records held in the tournament.

Gayle’s unbeaten 175* could stay on forever

We won’t see Chris Gayle anymore in the IPL but the space he left behind is one for the ages. Universe Boss Gayle was at his peak playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. In the 2013 edition of the league, Gayle’s heroics in the IPL can never be forgotten. He enjoyed his best form while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. 

In the 2013 edition, Gayle set the record of the highest individual score by an individual in the tourney. He scored an unbeaten 175 from just 66 balls. Apart from that, Gayle got to his 100 from just 30 balls. To date, this is the fastest T20 ton.

RCB’s massive team total

In 2013, the match which saw Gayle hammer 175*, helped RCB post a staggering 263/5 in 20 overs. To date, this is the highest team total in IPL history. No team has surpassed the 250-run mark in the IPL ever, besides RCB. 

The special Kohli and ABD show

In IPL 2016, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers stitched a staggering 229-run stand for the second wicket for RCB versus Gujarat Lions. This remains the best partnership for any wicket in the IPL. Their stand helped RCB post a total of 248/3. Notably, these two broke their own record of 215*-run stand set in 2015 against Mumbai Indians. Of late, no batters have stitched 200-plus partnership runs in the IPL.

A tale of the southpaws

Gayle smashed a total of 357 sixes in the IPL. It would take a herculean task for anyone to even come close to the West Indian big-hitter. Shikhar Dhawan is still going long and strong in the IPL. The southpaw is the only IPL batter with 600-plus fours (654). Dhawan can become the first player to smash 700 fours in the tournament. To catch his numbers until he retires will be a stiff ask for anyone.

Kohli’s 2016 heroics 

In the 2016 edition of the IPL, RCB skipper Virat Kohli went on to hammer a mammoth 973 runs in the tournament. To date, apart from Kohli, nobody has ever crossed the 900-run mark. The second player in terms of most runs in a single season is David Warner, who hit 848 runs in 2016. This extraordinary feat by Kohli could stay on forever. The season also saw Kohli smash four centuries. This special achievement may live on forever. 

Other unbreakable records in the IPL

AB de Villiers holds the record for most catches in a season. He took 19 in the 2016 edition. This special achievement could be out of reach for any player. Kohli has been part of 22-century stands in the IPL. He will hope to add to the tally, and this is a record that can remain untouched. 

Four-time winners CSK have been part of the playoffs on 11 occasions. CSK are sure to add to this tally and keep a distance from the others. Amit Mishra is the only bowler to have claimed three hat-tricks, Yuvraj Singh is the only other player with two hat-tricks, Mishra’s record can be deemed as unbreakable.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply