GT vs CSK final
All eyes will be on CSK skipper MS Dhoni, who will be playing his 11th IPL final.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 final sees Gujarat Titans take on Chennai Super Kings in a crucial encounter. Since joining the league last year, GT can win a second successive IPL honor. Meanwhile, CSK, who are in their record 10th final, can claim a 5th title.

All eyes will be on CSK skipper MS Dhoni, who will be playing his 11th IPL final. He has so far won four honors besides losing on six counts, including five with CSK. Dhoni is set to become the first player in IPL history to appear in 250 games. In 249 games, Dhoni has scored 5028 runs in the IPL at 39.09. Meanwhile, for CSK, he has scored 4508 runs at 40.25.

Dhoni can become the third player with this record in the IPL finals

Dhoni has scored 180 runs in the IPL finals, as per ESPNcricinfo. He is 20 shy of becoming the third player with 200-plus runs in IPL finals. He can join Suresh Raina (249) and Shane Watson (236).

Dhoni can equal Rohit’s record

Dhoni, who has four IPL honors as CSK skipper, can equal Rohit Sharma regarding IPL titles (5). Rohit has lifted 5 honors with Mumbai Indians.

Other records on offer in the IPL final

Shubman Gill can join Kohli in this unique club

Shubman Gill has enjoyed the form of his life, scoring three tons in his last four IPL innings. He is set to bag the Orange Cap. Gill scored 851 runs in IPL 2023 and needs 49 more to become the second player after Virat Kohli to score 900-plus runs in an IPL campaign. Kohli scored 973 runs in IPL 2016. Gill has a solid average of 60.78 in IPL 2023.

Gill can equal Kohli and Buttler with this massive record

Gill has three tons this season; one more can help him reach four tons. With this, he can match the tallies of Kohli and Jos Buttler, who hold the record for most tons in an IPL campaign (4 each).

CSK can match MI’s record

CSK have won four IPL honors in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. CSK can beat Gujarat to win their fifth trophy and equal MI as the most successful side. MI have won the IPL in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

Shami can get to 50 scalps for Gujarat

Mohammed Shami is the leading wicket-taker for Gujarat with 48 scalps. He is two shy of the 50 mark. Notably, Shami is the leading wicket-taker in IPL 2023 with 28 scalps. He claimed 20 in IPL 2022. He can also get to 50 powerplay wickets in the IPL, having amassed 46.