Former New Zealand all-rounder Scott Styris has named his Team of the Tournament for the recently concluded Indian Premier League 2020. Defending champions beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets in a pretty-much one-sided contest on Tuesday.

With this win, Mumbai won a record-extending fifth IPL title and second in as many seasons. There was a huge gulf in class between MI and DC, who were making their first appearance in the final this season.

In the final, Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and opted to bat first. However, pacer Trent Boult gave Mumbai a dream start as he drove through DC's top order. He dismissed Marcus Stoinis on the first ball of the match, before scalping Ajinkya Rahane in the next over.

Jayant Yadav got the huge wicket of an in-form Shikhar Dhawan to left Delhi niggling at 22/3. Skipper Iyer and Rishabh Pant then steadied the ship with a 96-run partnership for the fourth wicket. The duo scored a fifty each to take Delhi to a respectable total of 156/7.

Chasing 157, Quinton de Kock gave MI a brilliant start while Rohit Sharma showed class in his approach and scored a fluent fifty. Ishan Kishan played a handy cameo at the end as Mumbai clinched their record-extending fifth IPL title.

Coming back to Scott Styris’ team of the season, he started by naming Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner and Kings XI Punjab skipper KL Rahul as the openers of his star-studded team.

While Warner led SRH from the front and scored 548 runs to help his side make it to the playoffs, Rahul ended the season as the top-scorer 670 runs in 14 games at a remarkable average of 55.83.

At number three and four, Styris picked MI's Suryakumar Yadav and RCB skipper Virat Kohli. Yadav had a dream season with the bat, scoring 480 runs while Virat, despite not being at his absolute best, scored 466 runs in the season. Styris completed his batting line-up with southpaw Ishan Kishan at number five.

For the all-rounder’s spot, the former cricketer-turned-commentator picked Rajasthan Royals’ Rahul Tewatia who scored 255 runs and picked up 10 wickets. In the bowling department, he opted for three pacers – Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer followed by two spinners – Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Leave a comment