The auction for the new season of the Indian Premier League will be held on December 19 in Kolkata. It is for the first time that the BCCI has moved away from Bengaluru.

According to a report in ESPNcricinfo, this year’s auction will not be a big affair as the eight franchises will have to disband next year in order to assemble new looking squads from 2021.

The trading window will be shut on November 14.

The IPL franchises have been allocated Rs 85 crore for the 2020 season. Apart from the allotted money, every franchise will have also have an additional purse of Rs 3 crore in addition to the balance left in their pockets from the last auction.

Delhi Capitals have the biggest balance of Rs 8.2 crore, followed by Rajasthan Royals (Rs 7.15 crore), Kolkata Knight Riders (Rs 6.05 crore), Sunrisers Hyderabad (Rs 5.3 crore), Kings XI Punjab (Rs 3.7 crore), Chennai Super Kings (Rs 3.2 crore), Mumbai Indians (Rs 3.05 crore) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (Rs 1.8 crore).

Leave a comment