There are a lot of myths regarding the franchise-based league.

Indian Premier League (IPL) is considered to be one of the biggest T20 tournaments in the world. Since its inception in 2008, the cash-rich league has given a plethora of memories to cricket fanatics across the globe. But amidst all the hustle and bustle, people have believed in lies over the years. There are a lot of myths regarding the franchise-based league. Let’s take a look at five lies in the IPL history that people believed to be true.

1.  CSK and RR were banned for betting

The eighth season of the Indian Premier League would always be remembered for the suspension of the Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. The involvement of Gurunath Meiyappan and Raj Kundra in betting led to the suspension for two years. Both the officials were banned for life from cricket-related activities.

The punishment was given by a Supreme Court-appointed three-member committee which was led by former CJI R M Lodha. It has been almost six years since the whole saga unfolded.

But many people still think that CSK and RR were banned because of ‘match’. However, the fact remains that both the franchises were banned due to betting.

2.  MI won 5 IPL trophies because of Umpires

The Mumbai Indians have won five IPL titles so far. Despite MI’s intriguing journey in the cash-rich league, many fans still believe that the Mumbai-based franchise has got favours from the umpires. Such claims are not true. The errors by umpires are part and parcel of the game. 

A few contentious umpiring decisions cannot change the fact that Mumbai Indians are the best.

3.  Sunrisers Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers are one and the same team

Deccan Chargers (DC) were from Hyderabad. They participated in the first five seasons of the IPL and even won the league in 2009.

On the other hand, the Sunrisers is a new avatar of the Hyderabad franchise.

Fans think Sunrisers Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers are one and the same team, which is not true. SRH replaced DC in 2012 and made their IPL debut in 2013. SRH are owned by Sun TV Network. They won the bid with Rs 85.05 crore per year for a five-year deal, a week after the Deccan Chargers were terminated due to prolonged financial issues.

4.  Chris Morris is the highest-paid player in IPL

South Africa cricketer Chris Morris is one of the most bankable all-rounders in the history of the Indian Premier League. His IPL salary saw a massive surge when the Rajasthan Royals (RR) purchased him for a whopping amount of Rs 16.25 crore during the player auction for IPL 2021 in Chennai. But Morris is still not the highest-paid cricketer in the IPL.

As a matter of fact, In 2018, Virat Kohli’s IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained him for a hefty amount of Rs 17 crore, 2 crores more than the highest retention price. The 32-year-old batsman is earning the same amount since then.

5.  IPL is fixed

This has to be the biggest and most common lie you have ever heard about IPL. There is no way that one of the biggest T20 competitions in the world can be fixed.  Moreover, the apex governing body of cricket in India, BCCI, itself ensures to keep the league clean. 

Leave a comment